Friday, January 19, 2024


 London UK, January 19th 2024 - Today, beloved indie-pop renegades Gossip have shared new single 'Real Power', available now here. 'Real Power' is the second single and title track from Gossip's highly anticipated new album set for release on March 22nd via Sony Music Entertainment. 

Sparked by the Black Lives Matter protests in Beth Ditto's hometown of Portland and around the world, 'Real Power' is a rebel rousing anthem and rally cry in support of owning your power. A celebration of personal agency in the face of overwhelmingly volatile times, its crammed with juggernaut rifts, tenacious dance beats, Beth's soulful voice filled with riot girl power and perfectly captures Gossip's classic dance punk sound. Tapping into the raw, real, visceral sensation of Gossip live, the music video for 'Real Power' pays homage to the thunderous sweat-soaked live shows that made the band notorious as a force to be reckoned with. Marking a pivotal new creative chapter for the band, the video is directed by revered audio-visual artist, Cody Critcheloe aka SSION who has crafted the full album creative.

Beth says "Real Power is about how awesome our city is and how it really showed up. The system was being rearranged and we were forcing people to reckon with it in a time when it could literally make you ill, in a pandemic. That's real power-people coming together, making those decisions to be in the streets."
Gossip recently set the stage for album 'Real Power' with their first music in 11 years, celebrated single 'Crazy Again' and the accompanying music video also directed by Cody Critcheloe. 'Crazy Again' has picked up critical acclaim and landed at the top of playlists around the world.

Back at their very best, the 'Real Power' album marks a reunion with acclaimed producer Rick Rubin, who helmed the band’s pivotal 2009 album Music For Men.  At the coaxing of Rubin, the band started recording in 2019 after completing a tour for the ten-year anniversary of Music For Men. Recorded at Rubin's home studio in Kauai and is an 11-track celebration of creative expression, and the power of chosen family in the aftermath of collective and personal trauma.  
Having been at the heart of the indie sleaze movement, Gossip's ground-breaking legacy is at the forefront once again and marks the the perfect moment for these straight-talking rebel rousing icons to reunite at a time when the political, cultural, gender and sexuality issues that fired and inspired Gossip's anthems are so much a part of the zeitgeist. The trio's blistering brand of soulful swagger brought queer politics to the mainstream, confronted body politics head on and singularly refused to be pigeonholed or ignored, landing magazine covers around the world and soundtracking primetime TV. Always ahead of their time they garner huge critical acclaim and continue to uphold their reputation as one of the most exciting and relevant must-see live bands. A multi-Platinum selling band, Gossip have sold over 10 million records worldwide and are one of Indie Rock's most exciting acts from the early 21st century. The band's 2016 breakout studio album, Standing In The Way Of Control, reached #1 on UK Indie chart (certified Gold) and solidified the band as a dynamic force in the music scene.  'Standing In The Way Of Control,' the album’s battle-cry title track, is a queer anthem written in response to U.S. government's proposition to define marriage and exclude homosexuals.
Frontwoman Beth Ditto remains a global icon and bonafide music, fashion, feminist & LGBTQ+ trailblazer. Embedded into the fashion world; from performances and walking the runway for the likes of Jean Paul Gaultier, Fendi, Cartier, Gucci, Stella McCartney, Marc Jacobs, Versace & Alexander Wang, she has also collaborated with Calvin Klein (global underwear campaign alongside Bella Hadid & Naomi Cambell), Jean Paul Gaultier for her own collection, Marc Jacobs on an exclusive T, and launched her own MAC makeup range. 
Preorder the album HERE. See the full track listing below.
Real Power Track Listing

01 Act Of God

02 Real Power

03 Don't Be Afraid

04 Crazy Again

05 Edge Of The Sun

06 Give It Up For Love

07 Turn The Card

08 Tell Me Something

09 Light It Up

10 Tough

11 Peace and Quiet

No comments:

Post a Comment